National News

Sindh’s 7 districts to have universities, campuses

Karachi, June 17, 2022: Sindh Government has adopted a policy to either establish a full-fledged university or a campus of a recognized public university in at least seven districts in a bid to promote higher education among the deprived sections of the provinces.

The districts include Korangi, Karachi West, Keamari, Malir, Tando M. Khan, Tando Allah Yar, and Sujawal. This was announced by Chief Minister Sindh Murad Ali Shah in his budget speech the other day.

He added that Korangi will have a University of Technology & Skill, Vocational/ Industrial Development, while Karachi West and Keamari will have sub-campuses of this university.

Malir will have a sub-campus of NED University. Likewise, Tando M. Khan and Tando Allah Yar will be given sub-campuses of IBA Karachi or Sukkur IBA and Sujawal will have a sub-campus of Mehran University.

The CM informed that the allocation for Universities & Boards department is increased in non-development budget from Rs. 13.314 billion in the year 2021-22 to Rs. 18.704 billion in 2022-23. The grant to universities has been enhanced from Rs. 9.4 billion during CFY 2021-22 to Rs. 14.3 billion for next financial year.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button