Salman Butt has been named as a member of the PCB selection panel

PCB selection panel

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has designated former Pakistani cricketers Kamran Akmal, Rao Iftikhar Anjum, and Salman Butt as consultant members assisting chief selector Wahab Riaz.

The trio has officially taken on their roles in the selection panel, effective immediately. Their initial task as consultant members to the chief selector involves the forthcoming five-match T20I series against New Zealand, scheduled to kick off on January 12, 2024, after the completion of the Test tour to Australia.

In a career spanning 15 years, from 2002 to 2017, Kamran Akmal participated in 53 Tests, 157 ODIs, and 58 T20Is. The former wicketkeeper-batsman accumulated 6,871 runs across formats and secured 453 dismissals behind the stumps. He played a crucial role in the Pakistan team’s victory at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2009 at Lord’s.

Rao Iftikhar, active from 2004 to 2010, featured in one Test, 62 ODIs, and two T20Is, claiming a total of 78 international wickets. He was also a member of the squad that clinched the T20 World Cup in 2009.

Salman Butt, the ex-Test captain, showcased his cricket prowess in 33 Tests, 78 ODIs, and 24 T20Is for Pakistan. Accumulating a total of 5,209 runs across the three formats, he notched up 11 international centuries. Additionally, Butt was a crucial part of the T20 World Cup-winning squad in 2009.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *